Most all states require liability car insurance, but some states require the addition of uninsured motorist protection to cover uninsured drivers. Uninsured drivers raise the premiums for other drivers in Norwich, Connecticut, but they still drive without insurance. Drivers may have to pay out-of-pocket costs in accidents with uninsured drivers.
Stats on uninsured drivers
Stats from the Insurance Research Council show one in eight drivers in the U.S. did not have insurance in 2019. In Connecticut, reports show one in 12 drivers don’t have coverage.
The number of uninsured drivers has lowered overall from 14.9% in 2003 to 13% in 2015. Mississippi has the highest rate of uninsured drivers and New Jersey has the lowest rate based on the latest stats. In Connecticut, the percentage of uninsured motorists decreased from 10% in 2009 to 9.4% in 2015. The latest figures show uninsured motorists decreased to 6.3% in 2019 in the states.
Uninsured motorist protection cost a driver an average of $78 per vehicle in 2016. The American Association of Motor Vehicles found 82% of uninsured motorists can’t afford coverage.
The problem of uninsured motorists
Connecticut requires the purchase of uninsured motorist coverage at $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Even if drivers have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, it may not pay for everything. This leaves them to file a personal injury case, but many underinsured/uninsured drivers have few assets.
Many states are working to reduce the number of uninsured motorists by imposing penalties for drivers caught without insurance. In Connecticut, drivers may face fines of up to $500, three months of jail, or both. Some states have no pay/no play laws, which restrict what the uninsured can recover from insured at-fault drivers.
Uninsured drivers cost insured drivers billions of dollars annually along with lost wages. Drivers injured by uninsured motorists should file an injury claim immediately.