In Connecticut, drug possession crimes are taken seriously. The penalties you can face are dependent on various factors, such as the type of drug that is discovered in your possession, how much of it is present, where you were caught, what other kinds of illegal items were in your possession and other factors.
For example, if you are caught with heroin, cocaine or crack cocaine, you could face up to seven years in jail for the first offense. The fine is up to $50,000. If this is a second offense, then the jail term rises up to 15 years and can come with fines of up to $100,000. For possessing illegal drugs within 1,500 feet of a daycare facility (licensed) or an elementary or secondary school, however, you face a mandatory two-year sentence. This sentence is meant to run consecutively with any other sentences you receive for violating Connecticut’s drug-possession laws.
Is it worth defending yourself if you face charges for drug possession?
Yes, it’s always a good idea to explore your defense options. There are many parts of the case that have to be handled correctly for a conviction to be valid. From the moment of your stop, search and arrest, you have rights that should be protected. If an officer violated your right against illegal searches and seizures or had no cause to stop you, then you could have a strong defense against the charges. Even if the charges are for a legitimate crime, you can still fight for alternative penalties and lighter sentencing. Your attorney will be there to talk to you about your options.