As a Connecticut resident, you may know that the state approved the use of marijuana for medical purposes in 2012. However, Connecticut has not yet joined other states that have legalized recreational marijuana. Although non-medical marijuana use is not yet legal in Connecticut, there are some adjustments to state laws that minimize penalties for marijuana possession.
According to the Connecticut General Assembly, it is no longer a crime for you to possess a small amount of marijuana, even without medical authorization. The threshold is half an ounce. As long as you are over 21 years old, you may simply face a fine for possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana for personal use. If you are under 21 years old, you may get an additional penalty in the form of a short suspension of your driver's license. Although Connecticut has decriminalized possession in this way, federal law still considers marijuana a Schedule 1 controlled substance, so you may face federal charges in some cases.
If you possess more than half an ounce of marijuana, you may receive harsher punishment. In most cases, marijuana possession still counts as a misdemeanor. Depending on the amount of marijuana and the number of previous convictions you have, you could receive penalties including large fines and/or incarceration. You may also need to attend a drug rehabilitation program if you have multiple offenses. In some cases, a court may dismiss the charges against you if you complete such a program.
This overview of recreational marijuana laws in Connecticut is intended for educational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal advice.