Under Connecticut law, a person who commits theft will be charged with "larceny." The state defines larceny as "with intent to deprive another of property or to appropriate the same to himself or a third person, a person wrongfully takes, obtains or withholds such property from an owner."
According to Connecticut law, larceny can include the following actions:
- Receiving stolen property
- Theft of services
- Obtaining property under false pretenses or by false promise
- Conversion of motor vehicle or leased property
- Failure to pay fair wages
Those charged with larceny can face several penalties under the law. The severity of the penalty and degree of the charge will be determined by the amount of money the stolen property was worth.
In Connecticut, the lowest degree of theft is larceny in the sixth degree. It involves property that is less than $500 and is a class C misdemeanor. Penalties for this conviction include a fine of $500 or less and up to 90 days in jail.
The highest degree of theft in Connecticut is larceny in the first degree, which results in a class B felony conviction. This conviction involves a theft of more than $20 thousand. Penalties for this conviction can include up to $15 thousand in damages and between 12 months and 20 years in jail.
Larceny convictions can be devastating and leave lifelong ramifications. If you or someone you love has recently received a larceny charge, consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your options.