Drivers in Connecticut are required to stop and share information when they are involved in an accident in which there are injuries. When they do not do this, it is considered to be a hit-and-run violation, and the state of Connecticut has strict penalties for those who break the associated laws.
According to FindLaw, there are a number of steps a driver should take when a crash occurs that involves other vehicles and occupants. He or she should first pull over in a safe place and then do the following:
- Call for help and provide first aid if there are any injuries
- Share information, such as name and number, insurance information and driver's license, with other drivers
- Speak with police so there is an official record of the accident
- Contact insurance company
- Talk with witnesses and gather their contact information
Leaving the scene without performing these steps can result in a number of penalties. At minimum, like when an unattended parked car is hit, a traffic ticket may be issued. According to the Connecticut General Assembly, drivers that flee an accident that results in injuries can face strict consequences. The evading responsibility law requires drivers to stop, give necessary medical care, call for emergency services, leave identifying information and contact authorities when there is serious injury or death. Those who break this law can face up to 10 years in prison, a maximum fine of $10,000 or both. Drivers involved in accidents that result in less severe injuries can expect a lesser penalty.