Was The Auto Accident Caused By Texting And Driving?

In recent years, we have seen the exponential increase in cellphone use while driving. Cellphones have become an integral part of our culture, and some drivers believe they can continue using them even while their attention should be focused solely on the road. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident caused by a driver who was texting while driving, schedule a free consultation at our firm today.

Free Consultation · Call 860-222-2021 Or Email Us

The Norwich texting while driving accident lawyers at Beebe and O'Neil have more than 75 years of combined experience representing injured clients. We understand the financial strain a personal injury can have on your entire family, and it is our goal to resolve these matters as quickly and efficiently as possible so you can get on with your life.

Texting Can Cause Rear-End Collisions And More

Of all the possible uses for a smartphone, texting is possibly the most distracting. Not only do text messages get sent and received quickly, but the messages must be read and responded to. This accounts for two times that a driver must move his or her attention from the road to the cellphone. Even the act of reading a message in "slow-and-go" traffic can cause serious rear-end collisions.

Any time a driver takes his or her attention from the road and the surroundings, devastating accidents can occur. Whether reading a text, typing a text or scrolling through a list of contacts, a driver is distracted for precious seconds. If you or a loved one suffered an injury in an accident caused by the negligence of another driver, contact an attorney at our firm.

Basics On Texting While Driving And Cellphone Use In Connecticut

Texting while driving is a problem across the country. Under current Connecticut law, it is illegal for anyone to text while driving. Adult drivers (18 or older) are allowed to talk on cellphones, but they must be hands-free. It is illegal for minors and bus drivers to use cellphones, even if they are hands-free. Drivers who violate the law can be fined:

  • $100 for a first offense
  • $150 for a second offense
  • $200 for a third offense

As of June 2013, the state legislature is considering legislation that would increase these fines and make notice of the violation available to insurance companies.

Schedule A Free Consultation

To arrange your free initial consultation with a Norwich personal injury lawyer, please call 860-222-2021 or contact us online.